Tags

, , , , ,

After some digging into the back corner of the outside storage i found the covers I was looking for. Originally I brought them to protect against the snail attracts. But they did not work as the snails manage to squeeze in everywhere. Anyhow now I am using them for my carrots and parsnips, the little spouts are now outside planted in soil. As a little portable greenhouse I am using those covers now as it should be. 

A visit in my favorite gardening center ended with a shopping cart full of onions, garlic and potatoes – of course to plant not to eat yet. As I want to be gentle with the unasked lunch guests – snails and do not want to use brutal power to convince them that my garden is not their lunch buffet. I thought of planting onions around each beet. Let’s see if their hunger is stronger than the smell of onions and garlic. 

The one thing I am prepared to do in order to protect my veggies is to set out traps for the snails. 

The trap is a recycled water bottle with half of it digger into the ground. Only the open end is over the ground. The bottle is filled with beer or probably less expensive a mixture of yeast dissolved in water and a tablespoon of sugar. The snails are supposed to enter the bottle and won’t be able to get out. Eventually some or all will drown. But this is a hopefully a better way than to dry them out by using conventional pesticides. 
I read once that there is really no way to win the war against snails, only fights. Therefore the wise woman writing that book advised to make peace with them and to offer places to feed snails. A happy fed snail does not bother to eat stuff that’s not their favorite. A green salad that is already a few days old is said to be their favorite dish. But you have to be careful that the snail population is not too fertile. So you have to do birth control by getting the eggs nests out of the ground and place them openly. Birds will love that snack. 

  

