Tags

, , , , ,

I do commute about 1 and a half hour one way. That gives me about 3 hours a working day of spare time in the train. Time I use for reading or writing. But back at home I am missing those 3 hours. Therefore preparing food needs to be planned ahead. The cantinas we have around are ok but do not meet my expectations in quality of clean food at all. I use to cook plenty of vegetables and rice and grains over the weekend. From that supply I take my daily lunch with me to the office. So that’s what I am used to to.Over the weekend I did some reading about pickling methods and came across a brilliant Japanese solution for my lunch box routine.

In Japan there are the Bento Boxes. A really stylish and cute system to carry the daily lunch.

Immediately I was thrilled and read the whole evening about boxes and recipes.

Here are some links to Bento boxes and the cute food arrangements which are an art of itself.

http://www.justonecookbook.com/how-to-make-bento/

http://greatist.com/health/healthy-bento-box-ideas

http://justbento.com/recipes

And so on……..

It is a very traditional way in taking food away. A box should contain carbohydrates, proteins, vegetables or salat, fruits or a little sweet treat. 

3 parts of carbohydrates  

2 parts of protein 

1 part of vegetables / salat

1 part of fruit or sweets
The box contains a full meal that satisfy the daily nutrition. 

Immediately I ordered a box. The choice was really difficult, as all looked so nice. Finally I made the decision to buy a little round container in which smaller boxes can be stapled. It is very solid and no liquid can leak out. Very important! I have ruined already a few times my bag with curry sauce or other colorful dishes. Oh and on the side is a box with chopsticks ! I love to eat with chopsticks. Here is my first lunch I need to improve the art of decoration. 

  

