Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Recently we had a lively debate at home, about sugar! Do we need sugar to preserve food? 

Is sugar a “good“ ingredients such as in homemade marmalade or at canning fruits. Or is it always evil and should be replaced. In homemade marmalade or for caning sugar does not only adds flavor but is mainly used to preserve the fruits or vegetables. 

My first source of wisdom is always my “ancient“ cookbook from 1900. It’s beauty is that it was edited before electrical devices have been invented, speaking here of a fridge! Clearly all recipes are referring to sugar to preserve fruits over winter. By referring to “newly“ invented method of pressure caning, they highlight the advantage to reduce the amount of sugar vs. the older method of water bath caning. But still sugar is needed, or isn’t it?

Ok, our ancestors where in favor of sugar, but what about new technologies today? 

A research of the Internet brought only the option of deep freezing. I personally don’t like that method because of the watery taste when food is defreezed. And the equipment consumes massively power and the storage space is limited anyway in a normal household. 

I am running into a dilemma, wasting electricity and have defreezed food I don’t like or preserving with sugar. My stand is to can with sugar as a method of choice. I really do not consume much sugar, neither in drinks nor in food. So I can justify it and make use of the positive properties of sugar. It chemically reduces the exposer to get moldy. The sugar crystals wrap up the organic structure of the fruit by cooking. After it is cooled up the sugar crystals prevent oxidation as the fruit is not directly exposed to the oxidation process. 

Do you have alternatives? Any ideas? I would like to know if you see a similar dilemma I do? 

