Tags

, , , , , , ,

What does it need to be environmental cautious?
Do we need to engage in challenges and post it in social networks?
I am reading a lot about zero waste challenge, buy less and minimalists challenge not to forget all the hype about vegan diet.
Don’t get me wrong I think all trends are great, necessary and truly the right move forward.
Our earth is suffering and men did their fair share to treat Mother Earth purely over the last decades.
For me the disturbing factor is that I miss the final outcome after those challenges. What’s happening after the 30 or 100 day challenge? In my mind it should result in a thoroughly rethinking of the behavior. Don’t you agree?
If the social networks promote a change in behavior and foster that people think about the consequences of their behavior, I’ll be more than happy.
But back to the opening question. What does it need to be environmentally cautious?
Actually the question includes the answer!
To be cautious 
We need to think about that our behavior has consequences for the environment. That’s the key. Be aware of what we are doing.
For me the turning point was a special edition from Le Monde Diplomatique. In cooperation with the German Heinrich Boell Foundation they published a meat atlas.Meta Atlas 2014
The consequences about our meat factories became very clear to me. The mass production of meat does not only harm the animals but also impact the humans, the environment, the atmosphere and supports famine and diseases.
I made the decision to stop eating any food sourced from animals at least in industrial countries.
After I realized that me as an individual can have influence on the market with my buying power I started to rethink all my habits of consuming goods.Coffee cups and waste

